June-July 2022 Fossicking Trip: 5) Kakanui Seadown Beach, Day Two

Saturday 25 June was my second day fossicking at Seadown Beach, Kakanui. The day was warmer, the sky was cloudy. I made two trips to the beach again, spending 90 minutes there in the morning and one hour in the afternoon, either side of high tide. Found some interesting fossil seafloor stones today. These are too soft to tumble polish the same way as for other stones like jasper and quartzite – I often just tumble them in 400 or 600 grit – this leaves them very smooth.

I also found some more jaspers and quartzites.

Tomorrow I continue my drive south.

A version of this Post first appeared in the Facebook Group “New Zealand Lapidary, Rocks, Minerals, Fossils”. The next Post in this Series features my first day’s fossick at Gemstone Beach, Orepuki, Southland. The first Post in this Series is here. A Series Index is here.

Author: tumblestoneblog

Retired Academic, male, living in the New Zealand countryside near Whanganui with his wife, two cats (Ollie and Fluffy), one puppy (Jasper), two horses (Dancer and Penny) and a shed half-full of stones. Email john.tumblestone@gmail.com.

3 thoughts on “June-July 2022 Fossicking Trip: 5) Kakanui Seadown Beach, Day Two”

Leave a comment