February-March 2022 Fossicking Trip: Stone of the Day #2, Kaitorete Spit Quartzite(?)

On the morning of Saturday 12 February, I visited part of Kaitorete Spit, about nine kilometres south of Birdlings Flat (thanks to Tracey and Ashley for putting me up for the night). I then continued my drive south, visiting Malcolm Luxton in Ashburton before reaching Timaru where I spent Saturday night.

I found Stone #2 on Kaitorete Spit, about nine kms south of Birdlings Flat. I think it may be a quartzite. It has an amazingly detailed and complex structure:

The other side of the stone is similar:

Kaitorete Spit is a 25 kms long gravel barrier that cuts off Lake Ellesmere/Te Waihora from the sea. Birdlings Flat is located at the northern end of this Spit.

When driving to Birdlings Flat, you turn off State Highway 75 onto Bayleys Road but quickly turn onto Birdlings Flat Pit Road to head to the Flat. If you continue along Bayleys Road, you drive onto Kaitorete Spit. About eight or nine kms along Bayleys Road (half of it being gravel road), you turn left to gain access to the beach near an area managed by the Department of Conservation.

Four of the other stones I found during my two hours on Kaitorete Spit this morning:

The next Post in the Series, on Stone #3 from a Timaru beach, is here. The Index to all the Posts in the Series is here.

Author: tumblestoneblog

Retired Academic, male, living in the New Zealand countryside near Whanganui with his wife, two cats (Ollie and Fluffy), one puppy (Jasper), two horses (Dancer and Penny) and a shed half-full of stones. Email john.tumblestone@gmail.com.

3 thoughts on “February-March 2022 Fossicking Trip: Stone of the Day #2, Kaitorete Spit Quartzite(?)”

Leave a comment