June-July 2022 Fossicking Trip: 2) Birdlings Flat

Second beach visit on my South Island fossicking trip was Birdlings Flat. I arrived there at 9 a.m. on Thursday (23 June) in thick fog with the temperature below zero. I was aware that the mouth of the canal from Lake Forsyth/Wairewa had been dug out recently to flush out the lake. The last part of the canal follows a path under the Banks Peninsula cliffs (see photo above, second from left), so I walked over that way. At one point, looking back, I spotted a small seal pup struggling up the beach, maybe looking for a rest from the heavy swells.

I spent 80 minutes on the beach – the fog kept the stones wet though the lack of sun made it hard to spot them. I didn’t find any agates (not unusual for me) but found some nice jaspers and quartzites.

Some background on Birdlings Flat for those who don’t know it can be found here in TumbleStoneTwo. Driving further south, my next stops for Thursday will be Timaru and Kakanui.

A shortened version of this Post first appeared in the Facebook Group “New Zealand Lapidary, Rocks, Minerals, Fossils”. The next Post in this Series is on my visit to Timaru South. A Series Index is here.

Author: tumblestoneblog

Retired Academic, male, living in the New Zealand countryside near Whanganui with his wife, two cats (Ollie and Fluffy), one puppy (Jasper), two horses (Dancer and Penny) and a shed half-full of stones. Email john.tumblestone@gmail.com.

3 thoughts on “June-July 2022 Fossicking Trip: 2) Birdlings Flat”

Leave a comment