June-July 2022 Fossicking Trip: 17) Return to Seadown Beach, Kakanui

Friday (8 July) was too wet and windy to go to a beach. Saturday was pack-up and tidy-up day, and I drove from Riverton Aparima to Gore where I stayed overnight. I drove from Gore to Oamaru this morning (Sunday 10 July) and dropped in on the North Otago Rock & Mineral Club’s Gemstone, Jewellery and Craft Fair for 30 minutes – lots of interest there! I then stopped by Kakanui’s Seadown Beach on the way to my lodgings (see this Post for TumbleStoneTwo’s main page on this beach). The afternoon was sunny and lacking wind, though cool, and the tide was high. I spent just over an hour on the relatively narrow strip of stones available. Found some nice stones, especially brecciated jasper.

Among the other stones I found:

I am staying in the area for another day, so I have tomorrow to do some more fossicking on this beach.

A shorter version of this Post first appeared in the Facebook Group “New Zealand Lapidary, Rocks, Minerals, Fossils”. See this Post for my next visit to Kakanui’s Seadown Beach. The first Post in this Series is here. An Index to the whole Series is here.

Author: tumblestoneblog

Retired Academic, male, living in the New Zealand countryside near Whanganui with his wife, two cats (Ollie and Fluffy), one puppy (Jasper), two horses (Dancer and Penny) and a shed half-full of stones. Email john.tumblestone@gmail.com.

One thought on “June-July 2022 Fossicking Trip: 17) Return to Seadown Beach, Kakanui”

Leave a comment